Tonight, the World’s best footballer in 2015 will be announced in Zurich at the annual FIFA awards.

The Ballon d’Or award will be awarded to either Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo or Neymar Jr after the trio saw off competition from 20 other players included in the shortlist.

The ceremony, hosted by Sky Sports’ Kate Abdo and actor James Nesbitt and will be shown live on the broadcasters news channel.

download (1)

Messi, 28, is the favourite as he looks to win the award for the fifth time.


Ronaldo, who himself has won the trophy three times, including the last two years, will be hoping his goal-a-game ratio (57 in 57) will be another to reclaim it.


Neymar JR, 23, has been shortlisted for the very first time, after impressing displays for Barcelona in 2015.

The Puskas Award ‘Goal Of The Year’ will also be announced during the ceremony as will ‘Coach Of the Year for both the women’s and men’s.